The End of the Road

So this is it.

The end of the road for Ben.edictions.

It started 3 years ago this month and for while it was a blast.  I wanted a place to keep thinking and writing when I decided to end my seminary education and this was that place.  I challenged myself and more importantly was challenged by others.  Thanks for that.  It has truly been a blessing.

There are a few reasons why I’m hanging ‘em up (‘em being the keyboard I guess).

In no particular order,

  1. It’s just not that fun any more.  You might could tell from the regular reposts and lack of original material, for the last year or so my heart just hasn’t been in it.  I don’t know what changed exactly but I don’t see it changing back anytime soon.
  2. Life is just busier.  I started working on a new degree and baby number three is on the way.  The focus and energy I previously used to write is being directed elsewhere, and that’s how it needs to be for now.
  3. There is also some element of “I’m just not sure I like what blogging does to my spirit at times.”  It can lead me to be overly sensitive, hypercritical, uncharitable and perhaps mostly succinctly an insufferable noob.  It increases my pride and decreases my love for others.  I’m not trying to spiritualize the fact I just don’t want to do this anymore, but I do think there has been some harm in it for me.  I’m not saying that’s true for everyone, but for me, it is.

There you have it.  I sincerely thank those of you who read faithfully and offered your feedback.  From a couple of you especially, I grew immensely in both outlook and clarity and I look forward to continuing to follow your work.

So take care and God bless.

Peace,

Ben

2 thoughts on “The End of the Road

  1. Hey Ben,

    Not sure how I missed this when you first posted it. I happened to be going through one of my old comment threads today and thought of you — decided to pop over and see what’s going on. Sad to see you’ve hung up the spurs, but I’m very glad that you’ve left your blog in place. I always hate it when people remove old posts.

    Anyway, I hope things are going well for you and your family. Feel free to holler at me sometime if you ever feel like it!

    Later,

    Nate

    1. Nate, thanks for your post. Yea I’m sad to have stopped as well, maybe one day I can pick it up again. I’ve continued to follow your site. I need to make more of an effort to jump into the comments. Take care!

Leave a comment